What is Designated Development?

Designated Development is development for which a development application is to be submitted to Council in conjunction with an Environmental Impact Statement (EIS). A list of developments and criteria which are classified as designated development can be found in Schedule 3 of the Environmental Planning and Assessment Regulation 2000.

A summary is as follows:

1   Agricultural produce industries
2   Aircraft facilities
3   Aquaculture
4   Artificial waterbodies
5   Bitumen pre-mix and hot-mix industries
6   Breweries and distilleries
7   Cement works
8   Ceramic and glass industries
9   Chemical industries and works
10   Chemical storage facilities
11   Coal mines
12   Coal works
13   Composting facilities or works
14   Concrete works
15   Contaminated soil treatment works
16   Crushing, grinding or separating works
17   Drum or container reconditioning works
18   Electricity generating stations
19   Extractive industries
20   Limestone mines and works
21   Livestock intensive industries
22   Livestock processing industries
23   Marinas or other related land and water shoreline facilities
24   Mineral processing or metallurgical works
25   Mines
26   Paper pulp or pulp products industries
27   Petroleum works
28   Railway freight terminals
29   Sewerage systems and sewer mining systems
30   Shipping facilities
31   Turf farms
32   Waste management facilities or works
33   Wood or timber milling or processing works
34   Wood preservation works